From Enthusiast to Coder- My coding journey. Dev Retro 2022

From Enthusiast to Coder- My coding journey. Dev Retro 2022

Hello readers and fellow developers!! As 2022 comes to an end with 2023 dawning, this is the blog reflecting on my coding journey throughout the year, starting as a complete novice and ending the year among a wonderful coding friend circle and community. Here is a complete overview of my year in coding, which started with the resuming of college post-pandemic and completion of 1st semester of engineering.

How I started

As any student fresh after 12th std examinations, I first started learning C and C++. I then learnt some basic data structures in these languages. It was in August that my coding journey actually took speed when I understood learning in public, i.e. where you share your learning with others on social platforms. I then committed to the #100daysofcode challenge and successfully completed it by learning Java, java swing, Oracle database, JDBC connections, Python, Machine learning and Data analysis.

Projects done in the year:

  1. Shop management system in Java

    %[github.com/SohamG934/Shop-management-system]

  2. AI-powered healthcare chatbot

    %[github.com/SohamG934/healthcare-chatbot]

  3. Personal Assistant

    %[github.com/SohamG934/PersonalAssistantChatb..

Events and Hackathons

This year was particularly great for me in terms of hackathons as I got the opportunity of participating in Smart India hackathon 2022, which is one of the biggest hackathons around the world. I participated and won the hackathon, which was a cherishing experience in itself as I got a very good team and understood various aspects of debugging, presentation in front of Industry experts and entrepreneurs.

I also attended a number of community events including Google cloud and Polygon connect. I was able to meet and connect with a lot of inspiring developers and learn various new things.

Here are some specific benefits of attending tech meetups and events:

  1. Stay informed: Tech meetups and events often feature presentations and talks by industry experts, which can be a great way to learn about the latest trends and technologies.

  2. Networking: These events can be a great opportunity to meet other professionals in your field and build relationships that can lead to new job opportunities or collaborations.

  3. Learn new skills: Many tech events offer workshops or training sessions where you can learn new skills or improve your existing ones.

  4. Expand your horizons: Attending tech events can expose you to new ideas and perspectives, and help you think about problems in new ways.

I also founded an open-source community named CodeSapiens with my friends in November and grew to 100 members and made quite great friends.

Conclusion

As I bring this blog to a close, I am filled with a sense of gratitude and accomplishment. Looking back on everything that has happened in 2022 I am overwhelmed. 2022 was a great year got to meet with many people in-person and explore multiple communities and opportunities. From tackling new technologies to collaborating with team members and clients, I've gained invaluable experiences that have shaped me into the developer I am today. I'm excited to see what the future holds and to continue learning and growing as a developer.

Ready to be more productive in 2023. Thank you so much if you have read it so far.

If you liked reading this blog, please don't forget to like ❤️, comment, and share🤩 in order to show your support as your support means a lot to me.
Also don't forget to connect with me on Twitter | LinkedIn

#DevRetro2022 #hashnode#DevRetro2022